The Mid (20s) Life Crisis

Now, I know that everyone talks about the mid-life crisis but there is a pre mid-life crisis that I like to call the mid-20s-life crisis. Before you start thinking I’m being dramatic, hear me out.

Most of my peers (myself included) are starting to feel this constant stress/panic about our lives and it is no wonder why. There are so many big changes in the 20s. You graduate college, you get your first big job, you might get married and have kids, I mean there are really no boundaries anymore as far as what is possible and that kind of endless possibility can be scary, or down right terrifying. Yes, it is also ridiculously exciting knowing you can do literally whatever you want but it is tough narrowing down options and making big decisions that we know can have a big impact on our lives. 20 somethings are faced with big decisions right and left and while there are loads of options that are awesome to have, like ‘should I take a year to travel?’ ‘should I take this awesome job opportunity that will open loads of doors?’ or ‘should I stay where I am?’, they are also ridiculously stressful. It is hard to make decisions that we know will shape our lives and effect our futures. I know that I don’t want to look back and think ‘Man, I really wish I would have gone traveling instead of taking that job’ or vice versa. It is impossible to know which is the right choice, or if there even is a right choice anyway. The fact that the world is our oyster (insert your own cliché saying here) is great, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes there is such a thing as just too many options to know what to do.

With all of this being said, the 20s are the time that we are supposed to make mistakes, take chances, and just live life. We shouldn’t worry so much or put so much pressure on ourselves to make the right decisions and we should enjoy being young, facing endless possibilities.

But we stress anyway, we worry about our future and we let some uncertainty get to us. We have days of panic and we have days of throwing caution to the wind.
So yes, the mid-life crisis is a pain in the butt, but the mid-20s-life crisis, that’s a bitch.

Leave a Reply

