Because We Run for Fun….Well, and Charity

Good evening to all of my e-readers out there!

A bit of a different post for you today! A couple of months ago now I ran my first half-marathon and it was such a great experience that I wanted to share it with all of you. However, life got in the way, as it does, and I never got around spilling the beans. I have only just started working out more regularly again and man oh man am I feeling it (especially because Edinburgh is a walking city…..and always up hill). In the spirit of trying to remind myself that the current state of pain that I’m in is worth it, I thought I would dig up what I had written up after the race and share it with you now. Fingers crossed this will make my inability to sit down with out wincing a little more tolerable! xx

Oh! Also, please make my day and go and Follow my blog with Bloglovin ! 🙂

“So about two weeks ago I took part in my first half-marathon. It’s something that I have always wanted to do and after some injuries during college running, it’s something I didn’t think I would ever be able to do. A few months ago WP_20141220_14_27_17_RawI decided to just jump in the deep end and sign up to do a run for charity. After doing some research I landed on the Edinburgh half marathon on behalf of the Mental Health Foundation (I’ll leave a link below for both).

http://www.edinburgh-marathon.com/

http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/

I clicked ‘sign me up’ and immediately thought “oh crap! What have I just done?!” but never-the-less, I was still excited. For the first couple of months I did a good job with running regularly and working out but as time went on and life got busy, the running faded and I was barely training (and fundraising). Before I knew it the run was only a month away and I needed to get myself into gear, I started doing some longer runs and started trying to plug my fundraising page. Thanks to some awesome family, friends and coworkers, the fundraising went pretty quickly and by the time the big day rolled around all I had to worry about was the run.

Snapshot 2 (17-11-2014 23-12)
Trying to train….as you can see…it went well 😉
InstagramCapture_b08c5fe0-5d2e-495d-afa7-ab6bff29d399
Taking a nice stretch break after a long run (aka laying down and taking pictures of my Nikes)

The day started early and I was at the starting area by 7am. Even though it was early and a felt a little less than prepared, the atmosphere was so contagious and excited that it was hard not to be in the mood to run the 13.1 miles. There were thousands of people from all over the world and everyone was just happy and excited to get started. It felt like we were at the start line for a while but the loud music and commentator to keep us entertained worked wonders to get me ready. We finally heard the starting horn and the sea of people were off on a trek through Edinburgh.

WP_20150531_06_35_31_Raw
A shameless selfie to get the day started

wp_20150509_13_09_12_raw

It was  tough run but it was such a positive atmosphere that it was just fun. I don’t have any pictures of the run itself but I do have one of afterwards, and I think my face says it all. I was thrilled that I had done it and I had finished faster than I thought I would (1hr 49min) but I was also exhausted and in need of a good stretch!

InstagramCapture_aa8a19e1-fd91-4870-a7ac-97902d127f36

Anyway, the point of all of this rambling is that if you have ever been interested in running a half marathon, or a full or even a 5k for that matter, just do it! It  was such a good experience and the feeling of accomplishment is totally worth it. Its something that I genuinely recommend.”

So what do we think? Is the pain of starting to work out again eased by sharing? What do you guys do to stay fit and healthy? Let me know, I love hearing from you! xx

Leave a Reply

