What Living Alone Has Taught Me

Good morning everyone!

Today is an especially good day as it is a bank holiday and that means – no work! The only down side to this is that I am currently between flats, if you follow me on Twitter you will probably have picked up that I am moving house. I have a week between move-out and move-in so all of my things are packed up into a friends living room and I am stuck with a suitcase. The most difficult bit of this is trying to stay away from shopping before I get all moved in! #struggles. Anyway, this move is particularly exciting because I am moving in with a friend (who also happens to be a vegan, so yay!). Why does this make the move so exciting you ask?? Because I have lived alone for the past couple of years, moving in with a flat mate is a really big deal! So, on the brink of starting my journey of flat-mate-dom, I thought I would share with you what living by myself has taught me and why I think everyone needs to live alone at least once in their lives. Coming from someone who always swore they would never live alone, this is pretty big news. There are so many things that I have taken away from this experience but these are the big self-changers. Buckle up 🙂

  1.  Yes, you can rely on yourself– When you live by yourself, there is no one you can turn to get the furniture rearranged, unblock that drain, change those hard to reach light bulbs and to get rid of the spiders. At first this seems like the worst thing in the world and you start thinking “what have I done?!” but over time you realize, actually, “I don’t need someone to do this for me. I can figure out how to programme that TV all on my own! Stick it help from others!” I mean, of course you always have your friends (and family if they are close by) to help out when you really need it, but living on your own does help to give you that final push to realizing that you are perfectly capable to fend for yourself.
  2. Yep, I do actually like my own company– Growing up these days so many people are afraid to be alone. They think that being alone means there is something wrong with you or that you just don’t have any other choice. That is just so not the case. Being alone is amazing! This took me a while to get used to but once you do, its bliss. Go ahead and take a million shameless mirror sefies, no one will know! Eat as much cake as you want, no one is judging you! You want to dance around in your underwear, while singing the blues and crying? DO IT! Sure, its nice to spend time with others and enjoy others company, but it is really nice to come home and distress el solo. It is so important to learn to enjoy your own company and feel confident and happy with being alone. I mean, think about it….if you don’t like spending time with you, why would other people? You are awesome, so spend some time with just you.
  3. OK, I can be responsible– Very relatable to number 1 but this even goes down to doing the dishes, cleaning, etc. It is no ones fault but your own if the sink if full of dishes and there are three full bins of garbage rotting away (not going to lie to y’all but I have been there once or twice and its really not pretty). However, this is behind me now, I even have a reminder on my phone to water the plants, otherwise I turn into a serial plant killer 😦 Being the only person who take care of things teaches you to bloody well take care of things. Trust me, once this starts happening you start to feel really good about yourself- hello adulthood!
  4. And on the less positive side, Nope, I do not like it when people rearrange my stuff– While there are a lot of benefits to living alone and I am a firm believer that everyone should give it a go, there are some down sides to this as well. You can get a bit ‘grumpy old lady-ish’ and get very territorial over your things. I find that I get a little annoyed when someone doesn’t put things back where they belong or just totally change up my routine. I know that isn’t good and that I need to be more flexible in that sense. So my advice is to remain flexible with your space, just because its yours doesn’t mean it cant be enhanced by someone else!

So a long story short, live alone at least once in your life! Its good for you. Now that I have learned that I can survive on my own, I am very excited to live with someone again. That will bring its own set of lessons to learn, but bring it on world because I am ready for you.

Before you go, I would love to hear from you guys! Let me know your thoughts on living alone. I would also love to hear what sort of posts you would like to see more of and I will make that happen 🙂

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Have a great week lovelies

xx

One thought on “What Living Alone Has Taught Me

  1. Love this post! I never fully got to live on my own, went from student flatmates to living with my boyfriend. HOWEVER boyfriend works shifts so have the flat to myself most evenings/ nights, and can entirely relate to the territorial thing. I had a full blown, teary, angry meltdown once because he’d put the olive oil in wrong cupboard… 🙈 I am NOT proud of that voicemail… I honestly don’t understand how people who both work 9-5 cope – I definitely need my alone time! I think youre right though, your own company is definitely something you appreciate more with age. I have to say though, very jealous you found a vegan flatmate. I was raised veggie (although have also avoided dairy for the past 2 years-ish) so uni flatmates fridge contents were a bit of an education!

    http://itsemmamack.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

