Inside the Glamour Beauty Festival

Hello Lovelies!

As I’m sure some of you noticed, I spent this last weekend in London, a trip that was mainly to attend the Glamour Magazine Beauty Festival. It was such a great weekend and I want to share it with all of you lovely people, so here we go! (Also, check out my YouTube channel for an insider vlog!)

DSC00138

The Glamour Beauty Festival

About a month ago I bought a copy of Glamour in an airport to keep me occupied on the plane and came across their ads for the beauty festival. After looking through the pages, seeing what brands were going to attend and who the speakers were going to be, I decided to throw caution to the wind and book tickets when I got home. They were £50 for a half day and tickets included entry to the event, one main speaker talk, and a goodie bag worth about £160. I justified spending the money to go that way 😉 So I booked a plane ticket, convinced my boyfriend he needed a weekend in London, and packed my bags. It was very much a “look out world Shelby is headed to Glamour!” moment. Cue great music montage.

The day started early. I stayed at The Nadler Kensington (which was a great deal, in a lovely location and about 2 minutes’ walk from a tube stop, so it was so easy to get to everything!) I woke up around 7.30 and started getting ready for my big day out because I was too excited to sleep any longer. Looking back, I would have kept my makeup minimal since I could have had it done at the event, but I’m actually glad I did because I got a lot of compliments from the makeup artists, which was a nice bonus, am I right girls?! These were some of the makeup stations that filled a few of the rooms (Laura Mercier and NARS):

 

WP_20160312_11_16_42_Raw (1)WP_20160312_11_34_42_Raw

The event was held at the Saatchi Gallery and the venue was fantastic. They had really made the gallery Glamour. It was a crisp, clean and simple white theme with red details on the walls to tell people where to go and what was where. It really made the event feel classy and chic. How cute is this little tunnel:

WP_20160312_12_17_30_Raw

I spent the day wandering around the gallery, listening to talks by the Glamour Magazine editors and having different treatments done in the treatment areas. A few of the awesome options I chose:

  • Have a one-to-one with a Laura Mercier makeup artist who gave me pointers on how to cover up the circles under my eyes and the best ways to finish and brighten my face.
  • Talk with a NARS makeup artist about blushers and tried out the exclusive colour Goulue.
  • Have a skin scan with a Balance Me skin care technician. This was really cool. You put your head in this fabric box (for lack of a better word) and you look in a mirror and your skin shows up in different shades of purple, so sun damage shows up as really dark, dehydration shows up as a darker shade, etc. Such a cool thing to see!
  • Do a cover shoot and end up with a picture of myself on a Glamour cover. Although I hate the picture, yes – too much to show anyone, it was still a fun experience!

There were loads of things I didn’t get to for one reason or another, like getting my hair styled (I had already curled my hair, note to self, don’t get yourself ready, let them do it!), a brow wax and tint by Benefit, etc.

InstagramCapture_ae636de4-0d11-464a-b93c-7576e5c024e2

Although I loved the make up areas, I was most excited about the speakers. Tanya Burr, Jim Chapmen, Pixiwoo, Naomi Smart, Jo Malone, Rita Ora and many many more were all giving talks. I couldn’t decide who to go for so I bought two tickets, one for the morning and one for the afternoon so I could go to two. I have to be honest, I was disappointed because you were only able to attend one main talk per ticket and choosing only two was nearly impossible. Especially when that was the main reason I had decided to go; to try to fit in as many talks as possible. In the end I choose to go to Jo Malone, Thea Green and Liz Earl in the morning and Tanya Burr in the afternoon. Both talks were really good and insightful. It’s nice to see the people we watch or hear about as real people, right in front of you. It makes you remember that they are someone like you or I, and that it is possible to accomplish something big if you put the effort in.

DSC00139

Overall, I am really glad that I decided to splurge and make a London weekend out of it. I wish I would have used it more to network but it was more of just a nice day out for yourself. What a fun event and I would definitely recommend attending something like this if you get the chance!

Were any of you at the Beauty Festival? If you were, let me know what you thought!

Untitled

One thought on “Inside the Glamour Beauty Festival

Leave a Reply

